Together, Let's Build Airline Retailing

NDC (New Distribution Capability) will enable the travel industry to transform the way air products are retailed to corporations

NDC (New Distribution Capability) is a travel industry-supported program (NDC Program) launched by IATA for the development and market adoption of a new, XML-based data transmission standard (NDC Standard).

The NDC Standard enhances the capability of communications between airlines and travel agents. The NDC Standard is open to any third party, intermediary, IT provider or non-IATA member, to implement and use.

The NDC Standard enables the travel industry to transform the way air products are retailed to corporations, leisure and business travelers, by addressing the industry’s current distribution limitations:

  • Product differentiation and time-to-market
  • Access to full and rich air content
  • Transparent shopping experience

Version 18.2 and onwards: access the online implementation guide

Version 17.2: get the implementation guide and XML samples [zip]


Backporting Guidelines

How to leverage standards enhancements in older versions?

As new releases of the standards bring in new features and functionality, some of these may be required for implementers using previous versions of the standards. This section is intended to describe commonly agreed details on how to "backport" important features.

An example of this is the impending PSD2 regulation coming into effect in September 2019. While the 19.2 version of the standards (due for publishing in Aug 2019) will support the new 3D Secure v2 features, implementers of earlier versions (notably the currently popular 17.2) need help to integrate this essential feature in their current solutions and, if possible, in a way that is consistent across other 17.2 implementations also requiring to leverage this new feature.

Introducing NDC

Why NDC?

What is NDC? (Part 1)

What is NDC? (Part 2)

Who will benefit from NDC? And how?


Understanding NDC

How to use NDC: Shopping & Ordering

How to use NDC: Interline

How to use NDC: Operations

How to use NDC: Industry Settlement


Adopting NDC

NDC Reference Architecture (for Airlines)

Deplyment Patterns (for Airlines)


NDC Certification



Are you NDC certified?

IATA provides the only official industry certification program for NDC.

The certification process examines the capabilities of airlines, agents and aggregators to receive and send NDC messages, testing specific NDC solutions.

NDC Certification covers:

  • Airlines, Sellers and Aggregators — Any airline that deploys an NDC API or any seller or aggregator that consumes these APIs; and
  • IT Providers — Any vendor that offers NDC products and services for airlines and distributors can become NDC capable.

Access now the NDC Certification Registry to see who are the NDC certified/capable actors.

Changes to NDC certification

As the NDC standard moves towards industrialization, with all major stakeholders engaged, IATA is introducing changes to its NDC certification to better support the industry through this new phase of volume growth.

  • Certification and renewal on a 36-month cycle of NDC schema versions
  • Level 4 certification, full Offer and Order Management, which includes additional Servicing Messages (OrderReshop RQ/RS, OrderChangeNotif)
  • "XML-Capable" Registration and new Level 1 certifications discontinued
  • Later in 2019, we will be introducing “NDC@Scale” certification for airlines: a set of criteria to demonstrate that airlines (and their IT providers) have a minimum set of recognized capabilities to drive volumes of NDC transactions towards 2020.

Rise to the standard and apply for certification:

Sign up for certification now!